The subtle art of doing…Nothing!

undefined

The sole purpose of this article is to introduce you to the subtle art of doing…nothing! Yep, you heard me right. And, yes, I am in my right senses. Let me add some context. Remember, a few months ago I had asked y’all to carve 15-30 mins of the day to yourselves. During this time Meditate or sedate. Reflect or deflect. Be Mindful or mindless. But ensure the ‘me’ time is just by yourself for yourself to recoup, rejuvenate, reorganise yourself. Preferably at the beginning of the day, as it may provide a great start to your day.

Well, coming back to the topic on hand, couple of weeks ago I was discussing meditation and decompressing methods with Pills, my friend from grad school, and somehow the discussion steered to a technique which we both had observed in our childhoods. Although, we had neither discussed it before, nor had we seen it in practice since we both migrated to the US, it had stayed with us. My mom, dad and most relatives did it. What is this art? Well, simple…folks would just focus on to nothingness or infinity and lose themselves. They would keep staring at nothing in particular, and be completely still. A trance. Still in the world, but off to a never never land at the same time. Losing track of time and self. Pills and I agreed to try it out for ourselves to see if it worked.

I did. It wasn’t easy at all. Believe me. I mean when u meditate you have a mantra or follow a technique to focus on a symbol or your breathe. Here it’s just plain nothingness. It’s hard to focus on nothing. In our busy lives we always make ourselves busier by focusing on one thing or the other; hardwired to everything. It’s hard to detox to nothing. But I was adamant. After trying for a few days I was able to trance myself out to….nothingness. It was refreshing to say the least. Coming out of the nothingness trance, gave a new definition to everything else.

But then that’s the core, isn’t it? ‘Anything’ cannot exist without ‘nothing’. Space defines matter.

Try it out. Let your mind wander, focusing on nothing in particular. Maybe it will replenish you, maybe it won’t. At least, you have nothing to lose!

Leave a comment